Which African Countries Speak Spanish?

Written by Nate Webber

Idiomatic USA Chief Content Officer

This article has been moved. You can read it here

In Africa, Spanish is an official language only in Equatorial Guinea. This central African country has a unique linguistic profile, with Spanish being one of its official languages due to its history as a Spanish colony. Other languages spoken in Equatorial Guinea include French and Portuguese, reflecting its diverse cultural heritage.

While Spanish is spoken in Equatorial Guinea, it's important to note that it is not widely spoken throughout the African continent. Other African countries, such as Morocco, Western Sahara, and Algeria, have Spanish-speaking communities, especially in cities like Oran and Tindouf in Algeria. However, Spanish is not an official language in these countries and is typically spoken by a minority of the population.